Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 24th, 2009

It once again has been a few days since I was last able to post. We have been having quite a bit of rain and that almost always increases my level of pain. Even now I’m finding it hard to find a comfortable position while posting.The dreaded fibro fog is ever-present and makes it very hard to focus….so I may ramble back and forth… but I hope the auto-proofreading program will save my backside…lol… we shall see.  So with all my down time I got bored of looking for faces in the plaster on the ceiling and started thinking about the up coming holidays and reflected on all that I am thankful for in my life. First and for most I’m thankful for my children. They may be grown but, they are always going to be my children and I still worry about them. I recently could have lost my oldest as he was held hostage at gun point for over an hour by a bank robber. He works for a bank and they still haven’t found the man and his accomplices. He still has police protection a round the clock. I am very grateful to still have him safe and sound. My youngest will most likely be deployed to Afghanistan after he completes his training. I am grateful he is still here. So many will have to make it through this holiday season with out the ones they love. No mater what is going on in my life I will always remember what I do have when others are doing with out. Now let me look a little more at the things I’m thankful for….. this very minute ever so thankful for my craftmatic adjustable bed WITH the built-in massage…..oooh soooo thankful! Also for being able to find others who know what it is like living with chronic illness. I’m indeed grateful for all my extended family with whom I no longer associate, as I am now the black sheep since I won’t let them run my life….. yes I’m grateful. Now I have nice stress free peaceful holidays. I share my holidays with my children and friends! People that I like and who may not have family or not able to get home to their families and would other wise be alone this Thanksgiving. What a novel thought! Now, don’t get me wrong I do love my extended family…. I just don’t like a few of them very much and the ones I do….. I call and talk with them later when all the others go back home…lol…. which leads me to something else….. interstate highways and better gas prices and high airfare costs. Why you might ask? Well, them out-of-state extended family needs to drive and that eats into the length of time they stay and I can call and talk to the ones I like even sooner. I use to start cooking a day ahead of time…. well really just cooked around the clock for a day or two. Then due to my fibro cut back on some of the made from scratch foods and breads/deserts. Then changed to buying a cooked turkey and made from scratch other foods again. BUT now I’m grateful for Piccadilly Restaurants because they make home-made Thanksgiving dinner….. fully cooked turkey and all the trimmings! Yes we all do miss my home cooking {I’m not shy…lol… I am a darn good cook and will pass down my recipes} but are able to enjoy our meal all the more since I’m not in so much pain due to over doing it just to fix a meal. After all it’s not really the food…. it’s the “meal”… the breaking of bread together… THAT’S what Thanksgiving is all about….. being grateful. Taking time to reflect on all we have and the very fact that here in the US we have the freedom to make choices about the path we take …… now that is something for which I am grateful! May you and yours be blessed with joy, peace and health as you travel your own path. Take time to reflect on your blessing and find comfort in your heart and soul until our paths cross again…… Lila

PS: NOW ALL YOU SPOONERS OUT THERE…. DON’T OVER DO IT AND PUT YOURSELF INTO AGONY… “DELEGATE” IS THE KEY TO HOLIDAY SURVIVAL! SO PACE YOURSELF IT HAS ONLY JUST BEGUN….LOL… :}

PLEASE NOTE THAT IF YOU ARE READING THIS POST AND YOU ARE NOT ON THE WEB SITE “LILA LOST IN THE FIBRO FOG…” THEN WHAT YOU ARE READING HAS BEEN STOLEN AND IS BEING USED WITHOUT MY AUTHORITY AND I HOPE YOU WILL COME TO MY WEB SITE BLOG AT WORDPRESS http://www.lilabyrdakabirdladybyday.wordpress.com

Read Full Post »